MARRIAGE LICENSES WILL BE ISSUED AGAIN ON JUNE 15TH, AND BIRTH CERTIFICATES WILL ONLY BE ISSUED IN CONJUNCTION WITH MARRIAGE LICENSES.
You cannot get married within twenty-four (24) hours of applying for a Marriage License.
(With a waiver from a Judge/Justice of the Peace you can get married within 24 hours)
Your marriage license is one of the most important documents you will purchase during your lifetime. It establishes the legal validity of your marriage.
The license must be purchased at least 24 hours prior to the ceremony. It expires 30 days from the date of issuance. The license is only valid for ceremonies performed in the State of Louisiana.
Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, only one party is required to come in to purchase the marriage license.
The applying party must provide items 1 through 4 for BOTH PARTIES.
1. Proof of Birth (one of the following must be presented):
Certified Birth Certificate
Certified Birth Card
Certified Birth Registration
Certified Certificate of Birth Abroad
Certified Certificate of Naturalization – (translated)
Letter of No Record of Birth from Vital Records
Waiver from a Judge or Justice of the Peace
Louisiana birth records are available in our office. See link to the right for more information.
In addition, a photocopy of the birth record must be retained by the Clerk of Court. You may provide the photocopy, if one is not provided the copy fee is $1.00 per page.
2. Social Security Numbers
Social Security numbers must be provided or a statement by the applicable party that no social security number has been issued to him as required by R.S. 9:224. The statement of no social security number form is available in our office or online by clicking HERE.
3. Prior Marriages/Documentation
If you were previously married, you will have to provide the date of your most recent spouses’ death or the date the final divorce judgment was signed. It is recommended that you bring a copy of these documents to guarantee accuracy.
The marriage license fee is $27.50 plus $2.00 per page for each attachment, which includes waivers, statements of no social security number and parental consent forms payable in cash or credit/debit card.
A certified copy of the marriage license is $10.00. Available for once the legal document has been recorded.
To purchase a marriage license, you must be of the age of majority, which is 18 years old. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, both parents must be present with identification and must sign a consent form. If under the age of 16, in addition to the parental signature requirements, a Court Order is needed.
State law (CC Art. 90) prohibits the marriage of persons who are related by blood or adoption with the fourth degree collateral.
Blood tests are no longer required.
For any other questions, please call the Marriage Department at 337-898-1992.
Contracting a Covenant Marriage
The couple who chooses to enter into a Covenant Marriage agrees to be bound by two serious limitations on obtaining a divorce or separation. These limitations do not apply to other couples married in Louisiana:
The couple legally agrees to seek marital counseling if problems develop during the marriage; and
The couple can only seek a divorce or legal separation for limited reasons, as explained herein.
In order to enter into a Covenant Marriage, the couple must sign a recitation that provides:
• A marriage is an agreement to live together as husband and wife forever;
• The parties have chosen each other carefully and disclosed to each other “everything which could adversely affect” the decision to marry;
• The parties have received premarital counseling;
• A commitment that if the parties experience marital difficulties they commit to take all reasonable efforts to preserve their marriage, including marital counseling; and
• The couple must also obtain premarital counseling from a priest, minister, rabbi or similar clergyman of any religious sect, or a professional marriage counselor.
After discussing the meaning of a Covenant Marriage with the counselor, the couple must also sign, together with an attestation by the counselor, a notarized affidavit to the effect that the counselor has discussed with them:
• The seriousness of a Covenant Marriage;
• That the commitment to the marriage is for life;
• The obligation of the couple to seek marital counseling if problems arise in their marriage; and
• That they have received the informational pamphlet published by the Attorney General entitled “Covenant Marriage Act.”
The two documents which comprise the Declaration of Intent – the recitation and the affidavit with attestation – must be presented to the official who issues the marriage license with the couple’s application for a marriage license.
The Declaration of Intent can be downloaded by clicking HERE.
MARRIAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
1. Completed Marriage License Form
2. Certified copy of each party’s birth certificate
3. Valid ID from both parties
4. Valid Social Security Card from both parties
$29 | MARRIAGE LICENSE
Accepted forms of payment | Cash, Check, or Credit Card
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
Our office has multiple people on staff that can help with any Marriage License needs you may have.
If you’d like, you can request a call back if you’re busy.
Use our online form to Complete, Print, or Save your Marriage License by clicking on the form. Quick and Easy